PROGRAMMING

18 Jan

This one will drive dad crazy. During my wednesday programming lecture I forgot to participate in the class questions since they require a $50 remote iclicker, and I felt that was a bit of a waste of money. You can get the same marks by writing the questions down and passing in your answers at the end of class. Well on wednesday I forgot, so the teacher told me to email her and she would figure out a way that I could make up the marks. I sent her a follow up email and he reply was something like this: “All you have to do is come up with 2 challenging multiple choice questions based on today’s lecture, send me the answers, and I will credit you for the day”. Well this is actually a second year course, and I didn’t really know how I was going to come up with difficult enough questions. She emphasized that she did not want any rote recall easy questions, they had to be good. And of course I had to make sure I understood them inside out since I had to also send her the answers. I took this as a challenge and set off on my journey. I wasn’t going to the gym until I came up with the questions.
After a few hours I had hand crafted two exam like multiple choice questions in a word processor, formatted them, crossed my fingers (not really) and hit send. I waited in the dark for a while, (not really, I have been in classes all day) and I just checked my phone to her response.
“Angus, those were awesome questions! May I use them in our review class?”
I may as well write dad’s comment in advance, * Where are the QUESTIONS!?!?” I will post them later, I wrote this on my phone.
Anyway, since I like to always tie in some important lesson into these rants. People enjoy being noticed, and celebrated publicly!  This was a smart move on many fronts by my prof. 1. I won’t forget to do the questions any more. 2. I learned way more 3. I will say good things about her, and be even more inclined help her in the future now that she made me feel “special” LOL. About time I wrapped this up, my point being effective praise is a powerful tool. I’m off to programming class…

The Questions

5 Responses to “PROGRAMMING”

  1. futurefreescaleguy January 18, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    Hey, Where are the Questions? (just fulfilling the prophecy 🙂 )

    • Angus January 19, 2013 at 1:19 am #

      Added questions!

  2. Sandra Murphy January 19, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    yes, would love to see the Questions G&G

    • Angus January 19, 2013 at 1:18 am #

      Added questions!

      • futurefreescaleguy January 19, 2013 at 3:10 am #

        (Angus not everyone has openoffice installed.)

        1. Two variable names are needed to contain values for an electric charge density and a rate of change. Which two names from the list below would be most appropriate for a CIS*2500 assignment?

        a) charge_density, rate_change
        b) chargeDensity, rateChange
        c) charge_density, rate_of_change
        d) chg_density, rte_change
        e) Charge_Density, Rate_of_Change

        2. a) What gets printed when the following code is compiled and executed?

        #include

        int main(){

        int * a;
        int n, j;

        n = 4;
        j = 7 * (n + 2);
        a = j;

        printf(“printing variable a: %d\n”, a);

        return 0;
        }

        a) the memory address of n
        b) a garbage value
        c) 42
        d) the memory address of j

        2. b) What change(s) could you make to prevent from experiencing any warnings when compiling this code?

        a) change n and j to variable type “double”
        b) remove the asterisk in front of “ * a”
        c) exchange the %d with %lf
        d) add an asterisk in front of a in the line “a = j”

        2. c) What changes could you make to the original given code to print the memory address of j?

        a) Change the line “a = j” to “ * a = j” and replace %d with %a
        b) Change the line “a = j” to “a = &j” and replace %d with %a
        c) Change the line “a = j” to “a = * j” and replace %d with %p
        d) Change the line “a = j” to “a = &j and replace %d with %p

        Answers: 1.b ; 2. a) c ; 2. b) b ; 2. c) d

Leave a Reply

